With a view to improving PFM implementation a PFM Steering Committee has been established based on the recommendation of the PEFA Report 2008. The current composition of the Steering Committee is as follows:

PFM Reform Steering Committee

  • Secretary (Finance), Ministry of Finance- Chairman
  • Secretary (Revenue), Ministry of Finance- Vice Chairman
  • Deputy Auditor General, Office of the Auditor General-  Member
  • Secretary (Responsible for Finance and Planning), Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers- Member 
  • Financial Comptroller General, Financial Comptroller General Office- Member
  • Secretary, National Natural Resource and Fiscal Commission- Member
  • Secretary, National Planning Commission-  Member
  • Secretary, Public Procurement Monitoring Office-  Member
  • Secretary, Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration-  Member
  • Secretary, Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport- Member
  • Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology- Member
  • Secretary, Ministry of Health and Population- Member
  • Joint Secretary, Budget and Program Division, Ministry of Finance-  Member
  • Joint Secretary. International Economic Cooperation and Coordination Division, Ministry of Finance- Member
  • Chairman, Transparency International Nepal- Member
  • Chairman, Nepal Federation of Industry and Commerce- Member
  • Coordinator, Public Expenditure and Financial Accountability Secretariat- Member Secretary 

The Steering Committee provides overall leadership and strategic direction of the Integrated Public Financial Management Reform Program (IPFMRP) and also conducts oversight over the implementation of PFM reforms. It also provides guidelines to implement the activities by the PEFA Secretariat.